PaneerJalebi

I am writing something after long time . I did tried few new things but haven’t got time to put them here. But today finally I  decided to put something. Out of all of them I like the wine most. It has some orange flavor in it. I have’t got the chance to taste it, as it is still in maturing period.

As its season of festivals, everyone is preparing something sweet . So I also decided to try something for sweet tooth people. Mrunal is definitely not sweet tooth , but my son Ved  like sweet. ( Not sure exactly , if he likes sweet or at this age his taste buds are not ready. )

So I am going to write about “Paneer Jilebi”. Even I was surprised when I tried this first at Khalsa Dairy in Pune. But it was just amazing. I was not sure how sweet paneer will taste, but it was really good. From that time I wanted to try this and finally got chance to thry this on this Ganapti.

So here are the ingredients,

1 cup finely grated paneer
2 tsp milk
4 tbsp Maida flour
2 cups sugar
1 cup water
1 tsp rose water
dash of baking powder
dash of saffron strands
1 tsp cardamom powder

 

Good thing is , there are no fancy ingredients. I used chocolate essence instead of rose water, but you can try any flavor.

 

Preparation

1. Heat a pan, add sugar and water to make syrup of single strand consistency. To this syrup add cardamom powder, saffron strands  and rose water.
2.Keep stirring and cooking. Once desirable consistency is achieved. Cover with lid so that the sugar syrup does not crystalizes. It should stay warm too.
3. Mix finely grated paneer with maida. Slightly grind the mixture to fine paste/powder in a mixer. Remove the mixture to a bowl.

4. Add baking powder to this dry mixture and mix well.

5. Add milk and make a soft dough. Roll a small amount of dough into thin strands. Twist them into shapes and deep fry in oil till golden.

6.Remove from oil and drop them in the sugar syrup.

7.After Jalebi soakes for 10 minutes in the syrup, Drain the excess syrup and serve them after they cool down.

 

Unfortunately I don’t have picture of what I prepared. This is definitely a good option to our traditional sweet dishes. So try this and let me know if it works for you.

Leave a comment